VCMRF Ventura County Medical Resource Foundation

vcmrf ventura county medical resource foundation



The 26th Annual Leo Tauber, MD & David Fainer, MD Awards Dinner was held on Thursday, August 8, 2019, at the amazing Lloyd-Butler Estate, in Oxnard, CA.  The awards recognized outstanding community contributions by those directly involved in the delivery of health care in Ventura County who, through professional, charitable, and public service activities, has demonstrated they exemplify Dr. Tauber and Dr. Fainer's ideals of generosity, excellence, and integrity.


Over 300 people attended the gala event that included, entertainment by the Jeanne Tatum Band, raffles, and dessert and silent auctions, followed by a live auction, stand-up for the Children & Senior Resource Programs, and the Awards Ceremony - honoring 9 deserving recipients for all they do for their patients and clients in our community.  We want to thank our wonderful MC, Board Chair, Patrick Miller, the fantasic Auctioneers, Bonnie and Rich Atmore, our terrific volunteers, and our amazing presenters, including: Judge Toy White, Ventura County Sheriff Bill Ayub, Supervisor Linda Parks, CMHS President/CEO, Gary Wilde, Ventura County Beahvioral Health Director, Dr. Sevet Johnson, and past Fainer/Tauber Honoree, Dr. Paul Dougherty.  Lastly, our supportive sponsors and donors who continue to provide funds to help us carry out our mission "To improve, in partnership with others, access to needed health care for the most vulnerable and underserved residents of Ventura County.”


The late Leo Tauber, MD and David Fainer, MD, served as role models and mentors to many in the medical community.  Exemplary and empathetic professionals, Dr. Fainer and Dr. Tauber were known for their motto, “The secret of care of the patient is caring for the patient.”  The event is always a huge success.  The funds VCMRF raises touch many lives, and help support underserved children and families throughout Ventura County obtain access to health care services and programs, including dental and vision care services for vulnerable, low-income children and seniors in pain, and homeless outreach for those less fortunate.   






26th Annual Tauber/Fainer, MD Awards "Night of Stars"


Deserving recipients of the 2019  Leo Tauber, MD and david Fainer, MD Awards include:


  • Hospital Physician: Scott R. Smith, MD
  • Community Physician: Sergio Neira, MD
  • Nurse: Irma Barona, RN
  • Community Service Award: Paul Lenderman
  • Oral Health Specialist: Jeremy Patelzick, DDS
  • Vision Care Specialist: Gary Jacobs, OD
  • Behavioral/Mental Health Professional: Pete Pringle, LCSW
  • Allied Health Professional: Carlos Juarez
  • Trailblazer Award: Richard A. Reisman, MD





Nomination Form

To nominate a deserving health care provider, please fill out the form below and return it to VCMRF:
2020 Tauber & Fainer, MD Awards Nomination Form 


Past Honorees

To see a list of past honorees, please see the document below:

Tauber & Fainer, MD Award Recipients